MMRA - The Path to Greatness



   About MMRA


   Past Champs


2008 MMRA Points System Explained

Point System Explained - MMRA uses a simple, yet effective points system to reward drivers both for local events, and our Touring and Grand National races.  Our goal is to reward drivers who make the commitment to travel, while still giving local racers a legitimate opportunity to win the overall championship.

In 2008, there will be 7 North American Oval Track divisional champions - East and West Future Stars of Racing, Open Division, East and West Junior PRO Division, and East and West PRO Divisions.  In the east/west splits, racers from Texas and east will be in the east group while racers in Colorado and west will be in the western group.  Except for the new Junior PRO Divisions, all divisions must have a minimum of 10 members in good standing to receive the solid gold MMRA championship ring. Each champion receives a custom gold ring with their name built in – creating a one-of-a kind reward for a season of hard work.

In each group, racers compete for the MMRA championship by earning points in a total of 10 races.  The 10th race for all competitors is their Grand National race.  The 9 races leading up to the Grand National race will be made up of local events, Touring Series races, or a combination of both.  Each local MMRA club will forward a schedule of events to MMRA at the beginning of the season.  All these events will be listed on the MMRA website and competing in these events will earn points toward the championship.  In addition, MMRA provides prestigious MMRA Touring Series races which provide bonus points.  MMRA will take the best 9 point scores earned by each racer toward the championship.  As such, a racer who competes in more than 9 local events and/or Touring Series races will drop their lowest scores.  Then, at their Grand National race, each racer will face competition from several areas and will earn points in this final race which counts for everyone.  In the end, the racer with the most points from their 10 total events will win the championship.

Basic Point Allocation – The basic MMRA points system awards points based on finishing positions in feature events only.  No points are awarded for pole positions, qualifying races, heat races, etc.  Only MMRA members will be referenced in the finishing order.  The winner receives 40 points.  Each position back receives one less point.  Here is an example of the top 5:













Point System Adjustments – MMRA makes adjustments to the basic points system as outlined below:
 1.  Points awarded for local events only will be adjusted based on a car count factor for both high and low car counts.  The car count factor helps equalize points in clubs across the country, even though some areas have high car counts and some have low car counts.  First, for every car less than 10 in a race, one point will be deducted from all finishers in that event.  For example, if a racer wins a race with a 13 car field, he will receive 40 points.  If that same racer wins a race with only 6 cars, he will receive 36 points.  Second, for races with 20 or more cars in the event, every finisher will receive one bonus point.  For example, a racer who finishes second in a race with 23 cars will receive 40 points.
 2.  At all MMRA Touring and Grand National events, all competitors will receive one bonus point regardless of the number of cars in the event.  As such, the points will start at 41 and work down just like the basic points system.  This is to reward racers who travel to support MMRA, and race away from their “home turf”.  If an MMRA Touring Series or Grand National race rains out, all drivers signed in for the event will receive first place points. 
 3.  At all MMRA Touring and Grand National events only, the fastest qualifier in each division will receive one bonus point.  As such, a racer who sets fast time and wins the event will receive 42 points.  Second place would receive 40 points, etc. etc.

             4.  At all MMRA Touring Series races, the minimum points awarded will be 31, which is the same number of points a racer would earn for running a "one car" local race.

             5.  If a driver is caught cheating with illegal parts at a local event, and the illegal parts are sent to MMRA with a written report (Exhibit F in the MMRA rulebook), that driver may have a 0 score entered in their points standings that cannot be replaced by a higher score later in the year.

Tie Breakers - In the event of a tie in the final points standings, the preferred position will be given to the racer who finished higher at the Grand National event because this was the one time all year when all competitors were racing head to head.  As such, it is the best indication of relative performance.  When two competitors didn't run the Grand National event, or the Grand National event rains out, the preferred position will be given to the racer with the highest single race point score in their 9 local/Touring Series events.

Rookie of the Year - The highest finisher in year end points who competed in five or fewer points races in that division in previous years will be considered the “Rookie of the Year” for that division.